Blog Categories


Names of unauthorised institutes of veterinary released by PVMC

3 months ago by Maha Anwar in Educational News 5 min read

Names of unauthorised institutes of veterinary released by PVMC

KARACHI: It has been revealed on Monday that the largest number of the public sector universities registered with the (PVMD) Parallel Virtual Machine Daemon are not authorised for MSc, MPhil and PhD in relevant fields. The revelation was made by  Pakistan Veterinary Medical Commission (PVMC)-a statutory regulatory body for authorisation of veterinary education and registration of veterinary practitioners in Pakistan. Moreover, most of these universities have temporary licenses for issuing degrees in Veterinary Medicine (DVM) to their students. 

PVMC warned the candidates which included the students registered in these universities that studying in such universities is vain and is just a waste of time and money because neither the degree issued by such institutes is recognized by the council nor are the qualified candidates registered by the PVMC.

See also  Undergraduate entrance tests’ result announced by GCU

The list issued consists of the names of 12 public sector universities which are extracted out from all the four provinces by PVMS administration. These universities have been registering students and issuing degrees to them since a decade with temporary license.

These include Gomal University D.I Khan, Pir Ali Shah Agriculture University, Rawalpindi, Lasbela University of Agriculture, Water and Marine Sciences, Balochistan, Bahawuddin Zakria University Multan, Islamia University Bahawalpur, University of Poonch Rawlakot, Azad Kashmir, College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Jhang, Shaheed Benazir Bhutto University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Sakrand, Khan Bahadur Chaudhry Mushtaq Ahmed College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Narowal and Cholistan University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Bahawalpur.

The PVMC administration alarmed the alumni of the mentioned universities that as their degree is not recognised by the council, hence, the degree holder of the mentioned universities  won’t be offered any government or non-government jobs.

It was further unveiled that just four out of fifteen veterinary universities are completely authorised by PVMC for granting degrees of DVM, MSc, M.Phil. , PhDs.

The universities are: University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences Lahore, University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Rifa College of Veterinary Sciences, Lahore and Sindh Agriculture University, Tandojam.

PVCM Assistant Director Umar Nawaz shared that the non-authorised universities do not comply with the needful standards for authorisation for issuing post-graduation degrees. He said that the reason for granting them provisional approval for DVM is also the same. “These universities will be granted formal approval soon after fulfillment of the PVMC criteria,” he added.

It was found out after the examination of the case that Dr. Sajid Hameed, Principal of IUB Veterinary & Animal Sciences College accepted that his university is deficient of permanent authorisation for DVM degrees because of noncompliance with the requirements. “We have a shortage of senior professors”, he confessed.

Similarly, Shaheed Benazir Bhutto University of Veterinary & Animal Sciences, Sakrand head Dr. Zahid Iqbal Rajput informed about the insufficiency of the faculty members pointed out by PVMC during the last visit, in result of which the university board increased its number of teaching faculty in November 2020. He hoped that his university will be granted permanent accreditation by PVMC in the next visit.


Maha Anwar
Author: Maha Anwar

Spread the love

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Newsletter Sign up

More on Facebook
This message is only visible to admins.
Problem displaying Facebook posts.
Click to show error
Error: Server configuration issue